When dinosaurs ruled the land,
sea monsters ruled the...

Savage Ancient Seas

Dinosaurs
of the Deep

New exhibition - Now Open

About

Savage Ancient Seas: Dinosaurs of the Deep
May 24, 2014 – January 4, 2015

Enter the deep, dark prehistoric world of carnivorous marine reptiles, gigantic flesh-eating fish, flying reptiles with 3-foot skulls and the biggest sea turtles to have ever lived.

Bring the entire family for a Dinosaur exhibition like no other!

  • Dive into the ocean depths to discover over 20 large-scale, magnificent skeletons and replicas of ancient marine reptiles.
  • See the Tylosaur, the largest marine lizard ever found in North America at 45-feet long.
  • Take your photo with the largest turtle ever found or inside the jaws of a Megalodon.
  • Play the role of paleontologists and dig for fossils.
  • Touch stations with real bones and fossils, interactive touch screens, & so much more!

Hours & Admission

Hours

Monday - Saturday: 9 A.M. to 5 P.M.
Sunday: 11 A.M. to 5 P.M.
Closed Thanksgiving and Christmas (12/25)

Admission

  • Adults: $12.00
  • Military, Seniors (65+): $11.00
  • Students 13 and up: $10.00
  • Children Ages 6 to 12: $7.00
  • Ages 5 and Under: Free

Museum Members receive Free Admission.
Admission includes the entire Museum.

The Mariners' Museum is wheelchair accessible.
Wheelchairs are available for visitors upon request.

Prices are subject to change.

Groups

Group rates are available for groups of 10 or more.

Thanks to our Community Sponsors

WVEC TV ABC 13 Coastal Virginia Magazine Langley Federal Credit Union Tidewaterbiz, from The Daily Press The Daily Press City of Newport News

Bring the Savage Ancient Seas: Dinosaurs of the Deep exhibition to life through 3D in our new Super HD cinema Explorers Theater.

This permanent, high-definition theater allows visitors to transcend the museum experience into the world of undersea exploration. With this theater, visitors will be able to: Watch a short film on how maritime exploration has shaped mankind’s history; Interact with live feeds from exploration vessels around the globe; Experience thrilling 3D films and other feature films covering a wide range of maritime topics; Participate in our award-winning Interactive Video Conferencing programs.

Now Showing

Sea Rex 3D: Journey to a Prehistoric World

Through the power of 3D, experience a wondrous adventure from the dinosaur age. Join Julie, an imaginative young woman, in a unique voyage through time and space. Explore an amazing underwater universe inhabited by larger-than-life creatures which were ruling the seas before dinosaurs conquered the earth. See science come alive in an entertaining manner and get ready for a face-to-face encounter with the T-Rex of the seas! Rated: G. Runtime: 41 min.

Preview Sea Rex 3D below:

Thanks to our Explorers Theater Sponsors

Dominion Power Ferguson Cares Wells Fargo W.M. Jordan Company

Mark your Calendar:

May

Members’ Preview Party

Friday, May 23, 2014
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm

More...

Educational Activities

Saturday, May 24, 2014
9:00 am - 5:00 pm

More...

Opening Day

Saturday, May 24, 2014
9:00 am - 5:00 pm

More...

Educational Activities

Sunday, May 25, 2014
11:00 am - 5:00 pm

More...

Educational Activities

Monday, May 26, 2014
9:00 am - 5:00 pm

More...

June

Maritime Mondays: No Fly Zone!

Monday, June 2, 2014
10:00 am - 11:30 am

More...

Savage Saturdays

Saturday, June 7, 2014
11:00 am - 3:00 pm

More...

Maritime Mondays: The Misunderstood “Monster”

Monday, June 9, 2014
10:00 am - 11:30 am

More...

William Tsutsui presents “Godzilla on My Mind: Fifty Years of the King of Monsters”

Wednesday, June 11, 2014
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

More...

Savage Saturdays

Saturday, June 14, 2014
11:00 am - 3:00 pm

More...

Towering Tylosauruses

Monday, June 16, 2014 9:00 am -
Friday, June 20, 2014 4:00 pm

More...

Maritime Mondays: Long Time No Sea!

Monday, June 16, 2014
10:00 am - 11:30 am

More...

Savage Saturdays

Saturday, June 21, 2014
11:00 am - 3:00 pm

More...

Maritime Mondays: One if by Land, and Two if by Sea…

Monday, June 23, 2014
10:00 am - 11:30 am

More...

Teacher Professional Development Workshop: Savage Ancient Seas

Friday, June 27, 2014
9:00 am - 3:00 pm

More...

Savage Saturdays

Saturday, June 28, 2014
11:00 am - 3:00 pm

More...

Maritime Mondays: My, What Big Teeth You Have!

Monday, June 30, 2014
10:00 am - 11:30 am

More...

July

Savage Saturdays

Saturday, July 5, 2014
11:00 am - 3:00 pm

More...

Towering Tylosauruses

Monday, July 7, 2014 9:00 am -
Friday, July 11, 2014 4:00 pm

More...

Savage Saturdays

Saturday, July 12, 2014
11:00 am - 3:00 pm

More...

Savage Saturdays

Saturday, July 19, 2014
11:00 am - 3:00 pm

More...

Astounding Archelons

Monday, July 21, 2014 9:00 am -
Friday, July 25, 2014 12:00 pm

More...

Mysterious Megalodons

Monday, July 21, 2014 9:00 am -
Friday, July 25, 2014 4:00 pm

More...

Savage Saturdays

Saturday, July 26, 2014
11:00 am - 3:00 pm

More...

August

Savage Saturdays

Saturday, August 2, 2014
11:00 am - 3:00 pm

More...

Megalodon Week

Sunday, August 3, 2014 12:00 am -
Saturday, August 9, 2014 11:59 pm

More...

Astounding Archelons

Monday, August 4, 2014 9:00 am -
Friday, August 8, 2014 12:00 pm

More...

Mysterious Megalodons

Monday, August 4, 2014 9:00 am -
Friday, August 8, 2014 4:00 pm

More...

The Loch-In – Dozin’ with the Dinos

Friday, August 8, 2014 6:30 pm -
Saturday, August 9, 2014 8:30 am

More...

Savage Saturdays

Saturday, August 9, 2014
11:00 am - 3:00 pm

More...

Mysterious Megalodons

Monday, August 11, 2014 9:00 am -
Friday, August 15, 2014 4:00 pm

More...

Towering Tylosauruses

Monday, August 11, 2014 9:00 am -
Friday, August 15, 2014 4:00 pm

More...

Savage Saturdays

Saturday, August 16, 2014
11:00 am - 3:00 pm

More...

Savage Saturdays

Saturday, August 23, 2014
11:00 am - 3:00 pm

More...

Savage Saturdays

Saturday, August 30, 2014
11:00 am - 3:00 pm

More...

September

The Caveman Gala – The Paleo Party of the Ages

Saturday, September 27, 2014
7:00 pm - 11:00 pm

More...

October

Sea Monster Scout Day

Saturday, October 4, 2014
9:00 am - 5:00 pm

More...

Michael Triebold Lecture

Thursday, October 9, 2014
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

More...

Sea Monster Bash

Saturday, October 25, 2014
5:00 pm - 8:00 pm

More...

Summer PaleoCamps


Students had a great time in our PaleoCamps this past summer. Check back for information on our 2015 summer camps.


For 5 to 7 year-olds


For 7 to 10 year-olds


For 9 to 12 year-olds