Bygone Beacons: The James River Lighthouses and Their Lightkeepers
Presented by Larry Saint and Karla Smith
Tickets are required for all evening lectures.
General admission tickets are $5 each.
Mariners’ Museum Member Tickets are FREE.
Lecture begins at 7:00 PM
Hear co-authors Larry Saint and Karla Smith discuss the important role of the James River lighthouses in our country’s history, and how technology and the decline of river commerce led to their demise in the 1930s.
Larry Saint and Karla Smith are co-authors of Screwpiles: The Forgotten Lighthouses. Published as a fundraiser for Suffolk River Heritage, the book is the result of years of extensive research, interviews, and writing about the lighthouses of the Chesapeake Bay, James River, and North Carolina Sounds.
The James River lighthouses played an important role in our country’s history, first exhibiting their lights in 1855 in response to increasing steamship traffic. At the time, their design was unique, using a newly invented screwpile foundation that supported a cottage-style residence and cupola to house the light. The lightkeepers were dedicated men and women, living in often harsh conditions as they maintained their light. On duty around the clock, they seldom had the opportunity to be home. Hear fascinating stories of the people and places that made the James River lighthouses so important during the golden age of steamship travel, and how changing technology and declining river commerce forced their demise starting in the 1930s.
Special thanks to our lecture sponsors: