One of the advantages of processing a collection that was created in the Hampton Roads area, is that we often come across images of landmarks that are still in existence today. It can be fascinating seeing how places have changed and evolved over time. Recently, we found a number of photographs of the Sussex at Hampton Housing Project. It was originally built to provide housing for military and civilian personnel.
Construction began towards the end of 1942 in a large field off Kecoughtan Road between Armstrong Drive and Clyde Street.
The development was planned to include 180 fully furnished duplex units each consisting of four rooms and a bath. According to a 2008 article, most of these buildings have now been converted into single family homes.
“Fully furnished” included not only couches and beds, but also artwork, plants, rugs, and wall hangings such as these in the living room pictured below.